Skip to Content

The Central Dispatch: The End

La Crosse, WI, United States / Classic Rock 100.1
The Central Dispatch: The End

As we look back on this season it’s a mixed bag of emotions. Noah Syndergaard of the Mets put it best when they were eliminated from the playoffs in 20-16 “Baseball has a way of ripping your heart out, stabbing it putting it back in your chest, then healing itself just in time for Spring Training” On the one hand you have the Brewers who took us all on an amazing ride. And there is something to be said about a team that makes it that far the first time they try to strike. This Brewers team will be hungry when they hit the field next season. I know…trust me I know…how this stings right now, but next year this team will be hungry and will do special things again. The Cubs kind of got punched in the mouth this year and if that doesn’t matter to a competitor they are in the wrong business. As much as it pains me to admit it…this is a rivalry and I am looking for ward to playing out next season. As a whole, the NL Central was INCREDIBLY good. Pittsburgh would have been in the running in either of the other two divisions and Cincinnati was the foil of the top teams all season. In the AL? Garbage. From top to bottom. So, we are going to see a LOT Of changes in the AL Central over the winter. And as a fan of the game in general, I look forward to it. For now, we rest. We look forward to off season signings and guys starting to work out and we wait.

Until then, in no official capacity…here are the Central Dispatch awards

AL: Jose Ramirez (Cle)
NL: Christian Yelich (Mil)

Cy Young
AL: Trevor Bauer (Cle)
NL: Josh Hader (Mil)

Rookie Of the Year 
AL: Mitch Garver, C (Min)
NL: Jack Flaherty, SP (StL)

Manager of the Year
AL: Terry Francona (Cle)
NL: Craig Counsel (Mil)

All Dispatch Team
RP Cody Allen (Cle)
SP Trevor Bauer (Cle)
C Salvador Perez (KC)
1B Jose Abreau (Chi)
2B Whit Merrifield (KC)
3B Jose Ramirez (Cle)
SS Francisco Lindor (Cle)
LF Michaewl Brantley  (Cle)
CF Jake Cave (Min)
RF Nicholas Castellanos (Det)

RP Josh Hader (Mil)
SP Miles Mikolas (StL)
C Yadier Molina (StL)
1B Jesus Aguilar (Mil)
2B Scooter Gennet (Cin)
3B Eugenio Suarez (Cin)
SS Javy Baez (Chi)
LF Christian Yelich (Mil)
CF Lorenzo Cain (Mil)
RF Gregor Polanco (PIT)

Comments are closed.